Schedule
Below is a day-by-day summary of what we have or will be doing in class, along with links to all materials used and assignments given.
Please understand that even the most carefully formulated of plans do not always play out as anticipated, therefore materials posted before the end of the day may change to reflect reality in the classroom.

Jump to Today

Mon, Aug 6
Teacher Work Day; No School
Tue, Aug 7
Teacher Work Day; No School
Wed, Aug 8
Teacher Professional Development; No School
Thu, Aug 9
Freshman Greet (Freshman Only)
Fri, Aug 10
1st Full Day for all Levels
Bellwork.pptx
Activities
Foundations of Forensics 01 Fun with Forensics
Starting off the term right with a game designed to introduce many concepts related to Forensics.
Content
YourTeacher.pptx
Classwork
Homework
 
Mon, Aug 13
Bellwork.pptx
Activities
Foundations of Forensics 02 Forensic Science and the Law
Forensic science in intimately interwoven into our judicial system; therefore to understand the demands placed on forensic scientists, we will discuss laws affecting their work.
Textbook: Chapter 1
Content
01_Introduction.pptx
Study Guides
01 Introduction to Forensics and the Law.docx
Classwork
Homework
Tue, Aug 14
Bellwork.pptx
Activities
Foundations of Forensics 03 Types of Forensic Evidence
Today we will begin with a fun mini-lab illustrating the Locard Exchange Principle. We will then learn about the many different types of evidence that forensic scientists must be able to analyze, many of which we will explore in greater detail throughout the term.
Textbook: Chapter 2
Content
02_TypesOfEvidence.pptx
Study Guides
02 Types of Evidence.docx
Classwork
Homework
Wed, Aug 15
Activities
Foundations of Forensics 04 Testimonial Evidence
After reviewing the types of evidence, students will learn the basics of processing a crime scene
Textbook: Chapter 3
Content
03_CrimeScene.pptx
Study Guides
03 Evaluating a Crime Scene.docx
Thu, Aug 16
Activities
Foundations of Forensics 05 Crime Scenes
Students will have a chance to practice evaluating a crime scene set up in the classroom.
Classwork
Homework
Fri, Aug 17
Activities
Foundations of Forensics 06 Review
Students will have time to work on their crime scene evaluations and review for the quiz on Tuesday
Classwork
 
Mon, Aug 20
Due Today
Activities
Foundations of Forensics 07 Quiz
To help us prepare for the upcoming quiz without being too overwhelming, today we will watch some case study videos related to our content. Thank you YouTube.
Content
Videos for Review.docx
Classwork
Tue, Aug 21
Assessment: Quiz 01 (on PPTs 1-3)
Activities
Physical Evidence 01 Fingerprints
After the quiz we will begin learning about the different types of fingeprint pattersn and how to analyze them.
Textbook: Chapter 4
Content
04 Fingerprints.pptx
Study Guides
04 Fingerprints.docx
Classwork
Homework
Wed, Aug 22
Activities
Physical Evidence 02 Fingerprints
After concluding our discussion about the charactistics of fingeprints, students will begin an activity where they will practice taking visible fingerpritns, annalyzing their own fingerprints, and taking latent (i.e. invisible) fingerprints.
Classwork
Thu, Aug 23
Activities
Physical Evidence 03 Fingerprints
Will finish our activity on fingerprits.
Fri, Aug 24
Activities
Physical Evidence 04 Blood Properties
After watchinga video case study where blood evidence is used to analyze a crime scene, we will begin our study of blood by learning about its composition and what it is that determines blood types
Textbook: Chapter 10
Content
05 Blood.pptx
Study Guides
05 Blood.docx
Classwork
 
Mon, Aug 27
Bellwork.pptx
Activities
Physical Evidence 05 Blood Forensics
Finish Notes on Blood Properties and Blood Typing.
Tue, Aug 28
Due Today
Bellwork.pptx
Activities
Physical Evidence 06 Blood Splatter
Blood Spatter Exploratory Activities.
Classwork
Wed, Aug 29
Activities
Physical Evidence 07 Blood Typing
Finish Blood Splatter activities and do blood typing activities
Classwork
Fri, Aug 31
Assessment: Quiz 02 (On PPTS 4-5)
Activities
Physical Evidence 09 Quiz
Quiz
Classwork
 
Mon, Sep 3
Labor Day: No School
Tue, Sep 4
Activities
Review
Will hand back and go over Quiz 02. After this, students will be able to work on quiz corrections and study guides to prepare for the Exam on Thursday.
Homework
Wed, Sep 5
Activities
Review
Students will be able to use classtime to work on test corrections and study guides in preparation for the Exam on Thursday,.
Thu, Sep 6
Due Today
Assessment: Midterm Exam
Activities
Midterm Exam
Take Midterm Exam
Fri, Sep 7
Activities
Reflection
The Midterm exam
 
Mon, Sep 10
Activities
Human Remains 01 Forensics of Death
We will begin by taking notes on the Forensics of Death. For the second half of class students will have time to finsih their Midterm Exam Corrections, or can begin working on a short homework assignment.
Content
07 Forensics of Death.pptx
07 Forensics of Death Supplement.pdf
Study Guides
07 Forensics of Death.docx
Homework
Tue, Sep 11
Due Today
Activities
Human Remains 02 Forensics of Death
After grading the homework assignment. Students will develop their own death scenario, and then write up a description of the body (temperature, stomach contents, etc), that are consistent with their scenario.
Classwork
Wed, Sep 12
Due Today
Activities
Human Remains 03 Forensic Entymology
Students will begin by evaluating the data other students generated from the Homework. Once this is done, we will begin a short discussion on Forensic Entymology. Time willing, we will then do an activity on Forensic Entomology. . . . time wasn't willing.
Content
08 Forensic Entomology.pptx
08 Forensic Entymology Supplement.pdf
Study Guides
08 Forensic Entomology.docx
Thu, Sep 13
Activities
Human Remains 04 Forensic Entymology
Activity to process what we have learned about Forensic Entymology
Classwork
Fri, Sep 14
Activities
Human Remains 05 Skeletal Remains
Students will work on a small group project to l earn and teach about Skeletal Remains.
Content
09 Bones Supplement.pdf
Classwork
 
Mon, Sep 17
Activities
Human Remains 06 Skeletal Remains
Students will continue working on their projects.
Tue, Sep 18
Activities
Human Remains 07 Skeletal Remains
Student Presentations
Wed, Sep 19
Activities
Human Remains 08 Skeletal Remains
Students will process what they have learned from their presentations by completing the study guides that they and their classmates have prepared.
Content
13 Bones Student Slide Shows.docx
Study Guides
09 Bones - 3rd Period.docx
09 Bones - 4th Period.docx
Thu, Sep 20
Bellwork.pptx
Activities
Human Remains 09 Review
With Showdown looming large, and a lot of hard work with the student projects. . . we'll take time to process what we have learned about Human Remains by watching some relevent Forensic Files episodes.
Fri, Sep 21
Teacher Professional Development; No School
 
Mon, Sep 24
Due Today
Assessment: Quiz 3
Activities
Human Remains 10 Quiz
Quiz on Human Remains (Forensics of Death through Bones)
Tue, Sep 25
Activities
DNA 01 Introduction to DNA
Introduction to DNA with some YouTube videos. Students will then have time to read and outline the textbook chapter. Students who are absent may read and outline the DNA Supplement.
Textbook: Chapter 11
Content
10 DNA Supplement.pdf
Classwork
Wed, Sep 26
Due Today
Activities
DNA 02 DNA
Class will begin with a check for the accuracy and completeness of their outlines on DNA. After this, the first half of class will be used to discuss and take notes on DNA
Content
10 DNA.pptx
Study Guides
10 DNA.docx
Thu, Sep 27
Activities
DNA 03 Use of Lab Tools
Today students will learn how to use common tools for molecular biology (and molecular forensics).
Classwork
Homework
Fri, Sep 28
Due Today
Activities
DNA 04 Restriction Digest Activity
My apolgoize for the change of plans, but multiple factors combined to make it impracticle for us to do actual restriction digests. Instead, we will be doing an activity that simulates DNA extraction and Restriction Digests to match DNA samples from suspects to that from a crime scene.
Classwork
 
Tue, Oct 2
Assessment: Quiz 4
Activities
DNA 06 Quiz
Quiz
Homework
Thu, Oct 4
Period 1 and 2B Finals; early dismissal; no class
Fri, Oct 5
Period 3 and 4 Finals; early dismissal
Assessment: Final Exam
Activities
Final Test on Human Remains and DNA
 
Mon, Oct 8
Fall Break; No School
Tue, Oct 9
Fall Break; No School
Wed, Oct 10
Fall Break; No School
Thu, Oct 11
Fall Break; No School
Fri, Oct 12
Fall Break; No School