Schedule
Below is a day-by-day summary of what we have or will be doing in class, along with links to all materials used and assignments given.
Please understand that even the most carefully formulated of plans do not always play out as anticipated, therefore materials posted before the end of the day may change to reflect reality in the classroom.

Jump to Today

Mon, Jan 7
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Nature of Science
Welcome to a new year, and a new class! We will kick things off with a group activity designed to get students thinking about the nature of science.
Classwork
Homework
Tue, Jan 8
Due Today
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Curiosity, Questions, Naturalism, and Mechanisms of Action
The scientific method is of course the way scientists discover the nature of the natural world. Today we will learn about the scientific method, emphasizing the importance of curiosity, questions, and mechanisms of action.
Teacher Notes
01 Curiosity and Mechanisms of Action
Study Guides
01 Curiosity and Mechanisms of Action
Homework
Wed, Jan 9
Due Today
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Written Descriptions of Mechanisms of Action
No doubt we can all write funny posts for the latest social media craze, we can also enjoy Harry Potter and Rick Riordan's latest. But scientific writing is a different beast. Today we will learn about and practice writing scientific descriptions of mechanisms of action - a skill that will be used for the rest of the year. To foster our curiosity, students will also learn how to use the classroom microscope to take pictures and save them to the class gallery. Finally, we will discuss the importance of using the textbook, and how taking notes while reading (i.e. making outlines) will help them develop their scientific reading and writing skills, contribute to their success in the classroom, and lead them to become life-long learners.
Classwork
Homework
Thu, Jan 10
Due Today
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Life, Atoms, and Molecules
Leading to our understanding the mechanisms of action of biology, we will first study the Billiard Balls of biological function: atoms, ions, and molecules. At its simplest, these particles form the basis for all life. Thus, some chemistry. Today we will dsicuss the struture of atoms, including the importance of valence electrons
Textbook: 1.1,6.1
Teacher Notes
02 Atoms Ions Molecules
Study Guides
02 Atoms Ions Molecules
Fri, Jan 11
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Life, Atoms, and Molecules
Quiz, then a continuation of our discussion on chemistry, leading to how certain atoms form ionic bonds.
Homework
 
Mon, Jan 14
Due Today
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Life, Atoms, and Molecules
Continuation of notes on chemistry. This time focusing on how they form Covalent bonds.
Homework
Tue, Jan 15
Due Today
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Life, Atoms, and Molecules
Continuation of notes on chemistry. Finishing with comparing Non-Polar and Polar covalent bonds, as well as intermolecular bonds.
Homework
Wed, Jan 16
Due Today
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Life, Atoms, and Molecules
Finally finishing our introduction to atoms and molecules by discussing intramolecules bonds - those that are too weak to form molecules but are still very important. They are in fact the reason that water is essential for life.
Homework
Thu, Jan 17
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Physical Changes and Solutions
Today we will discuss the properties of solutions that make water critical for life. Time at the end of class will be spent preparing for a lab during our next class examining electrical properties of solutions.
Textbook: 6.3
Teacher Notes
03 Physical Changes and Solutions
Study Guides
03 Physical Changes and Solutions
Classwork
Homework
Fri, Jan 18
PD Day
 
Mon, Jan 21
Off
Tue, Jan 22
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Snow Day :-)
Wed, Jan 23
Due Today
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Physical Changes and Solutions
Lab examining the electrial properties of aqueous solutions.
Classwork
Thu, Jan 24
Due Today
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Chemical Reactions
At the heart of all life processes are chemical reactions. Today students will learn about the general types of chemical reactions that occurr most commonly in our cells.
Textbook: 6.2
Teacher Notes
04 Chemical Reactions
Study Guides
04 Chemical Reactions
Homework
Fri, Jan 25
Due Today
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Organic Molecules
Why do we eat? Because our body needs organic building blocks for energy and to repair and build our bodies. Today we will begin learning what organic molecules are, then discuss the first of these: Nucleic Acids.
Textbook: 6.4
Teacher Notes
05 Organic Molecules
Study Guides
05 Organic Molecules
 
Mon, Jan 28
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Organic Molecules: Proteins
Continued discussion of Organic Molecules with the next in our list: Proteins.
Tue, Jan 29
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Organic Molecules: Proteins
Paper Folding anyone? Just as carefully folded paper can attain surprising shapes, so protein folding causes proteins to attain shapes specific to their function. To illustrate this concept, students will work on a short (and hopefully fun) origami project designed to illustrate some properties of proteins.
Classwork
Wed, Jan 30
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Organic Molecules: Carbohydrates and Lipids
The final day of learning about organic molecules. Carbohydrates (bread and pasta nayone), and lipids (fats and oils).
Homework
Thu, Jan 31
Due Today
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Nutrition and Organic Molecules
Organic Molecules underlie nearly every function of our cells. But where do we get the organic molecuels from? Our Food. Today students will explore the contents of their food, identifying which one's provide which organic molecules to our cells.
Teacher Notes
06 Digestion and Nutrition
Homework
Fri, Feb 1
Due Today
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Nutrition and Organic Molecules
Video: We are What We Eat.
Classwork
 
Tue, Feb 5
Assessment: Test
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Test
Wed, Feb 6
Unit: Building Blocks of Biology
Go Over Test
After going over the test, students will be able to work on test corrections.
Homework
Thu, Feb 7
Unit: Cell Structure and Function
Cells and Cell Types
Today we will put together all that we have talked about so far to see how organic molecules come together to make the differet types of cells found on our planet.
Textbook: 7.2-7.3
Teacher Notes
07 Cells
Study Guides
07 Cells
Fri, Feb 8
Due Today
Unit: Cell Structure and Function
Transport and Osmosis
Textbook: 7.4
Teacher Notes
08 Membrane Transpot
Study Guides
08 Membrane Transport
Homework
 
Fri, Feb 15
PD Day
 
Mon, Feb 18
Off
Tue, Feb 19
Due Today
Unit: Cell Structure and Function
Photosynthesis
Textbook: 8.1-8.3
Teacher Notes
09 Photosynthesis
Study Guides
9 Photosynthesis
Wed, Feb 20
Unit: Cell Structure and Function
Cellular Respiration
Teacher Notes
10 Cellular Respiration
Study Guides
10 Cellular Respiration
Homework
Thu, Feb 21
Due Today
Unit: Cell Structure and Function
Photosynthesis and Cellular Respiration
Homework
Fri, Feb 22
Due Today
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Cell Structure and Function
Central Dogma
After the quiz, students will be passing secret messages to each other. Its not just fun and games though…we will be using this to understand how genetic information codes for proteins.
Classwork
Homework
 
Mon, Feb 25
Due Today
Unit: Cell Structure and Function
Central Dogma
Similar to the codes studetns created last week, cells encode not-so-secrete messages into their DNA. How this information is transmitted and decoded is one of the grand mysteries of life.
Textbook: 12.1-12.4
Teacher Notes
11 Gene Expression
Study Guides
11 Gene Expression
Homework
Tue, Feb 26
Due Today
Unit: Cell Structure and Function
Central Dogma
Havign learned how the genetic code is used to specify protein structure, we will turn our attention to the cellular processes involved in the actual transmission and translation of these codes.
Homework
Wed, Feb 27
Due Today
Unit: Cell Structure and Function
Central Dogma
Free Day: Thanks to all those who donated to SOX place and earned a free day.
Classwork
Thu, Feb 28
Unit: Cell Structure and Function
Synthesize and Summary
The final topic for this unit will be understanding what it is that makes different cell types different. Hint: its not their DNA.
Fri, Mar 1
Assessment: Test on Cell Structure and Function
Unit: Cell Structure and Function
Test
Test on Cell Structure and Function. Students may want to bring something to read or work on after they are done with the test.
 
Mon, Mar 4
Unit: Cell Structure and Function
Go Over Test
After going over the test students will have time to work on Test Corrections
Homework
Tue, Mar 5
Due Today
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Cell Cycle and DNA Replication
Our new unit will begin by looking at the life stages of individual cells, and how they reproduce through cell division.
Textbook: 9.1-9.2
Teacher Notes
12 Cell Cycle
Supporting Materials
12 Video - Mitosis
12 Video - Meiosis
12 Video - Crossing Over
12 Video - Independent Assortment
12 Video - Fertilization
Study Guides
12 Cell Cycle
Classwork
Homework
Wed, Mar 6
Due Today
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Mitosis
Continue discussio of the cell cycle, focusing on Mitosis and Meiosis.
Textbook: 10.1-10.3
Homework
Thu, Mar 7
Due Today
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Meiosis
Today students will each get their own pet fantimal (or at least models of their pet's chromosomes), they will then model what happens to their chromsomes during gamete formation and fertilization as they breed their pets to produce new, genetically distinct pets.

Students should complete everything up to Fertilization before tomorrow

Homework
Fri, Mar 8
Due Today
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Meiosis
Finish Fantimal Breeding then take notes on Meiosis
Homework
 
Mon, Mar 11
Due Today
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Meiosis and Fertilization
Today we will process what students learned by doing the Fantimal Activity.
Homework
Tue, Mar 12
Due Today
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Heredity and Punnett Squares
Students will work on independent activities that will guide them through different patterns of heredity, including the use of Punnett Squares.
Teacher Notes
13 Heredity
Classwork
Wed, Mar 13
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Snow Day
Enjoy!
Thu, Mar 14
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Snow Day
Enjoy!
Fri, Mar 15
Period 3 and 4 Finals; early dismissal
 
Mon, Mar 18
Off
Tue, Mar 19
Off
Wed, Mar 20
Off
Thu, Mar 21
Off
Fri, Mar 22
Off
 
Mon, Mar 25
Period 1 and 2a Finals; early dismissal (11:20, no bus until 2:55, no lunch served)
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Heredity and Punnett Squares
Quiz on Cell Cycle, Mitosis and Meiosis. Punnett Squares will not be on the quiz. After the quiz, we will discuss the concepts that were introduced with the activity on Tuesday.
Textbook: 36.2,36.3
Tue, Mar 26
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Development Concepts and Human Development
Wed, Mar 27
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Human Development
Thu, Mar 28
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Human Organ Systems
Fri, Mar 29
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Human Reproductive Systems
Textbook: 36.1
 
Mon, Apr 1
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Overview of Organ Systems
Tue, Apr 2
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Overview of Organ Systems
Wed, Apr 3
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Overview of Organ Systems
Thu, Apr 4
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Organ System Projects
Fri, Apr 5
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Organ System Projects
 
Mon, Apr 8
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Organ System Projects
Tue, Apr 9
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Review of Organ System Projects
Wed, Apr 10
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Review of Organ System Projects
Thu, Apr 11
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Synthesize and Summary
Fri, Apr 12
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Synthesize and Summary
 
Mon, Apr 15
Assessment: Test
Unit: Reproduction - Development - Physiology
Test
Wed, Apr 17
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evolution
Textbook: Chapter 15
Thu, Apr 18
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evolution
Fri, Apr 19
Off
 
Mon, Apr 22
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evolution
Tue, Apr 23
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evolution Game Design
Wed, Apr 24
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evolution Game Design
Thu, Apr 25
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evolution Game Design
Fri, Apr 26
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evolution Game Design
 
Mon, Apr 29
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evolution Games
Tue, Apr 30
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evolution Games
Wed, May 1
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evidence for Evolution
Thu, May 2
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evidence for Evolution
Fri, May 3
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evidence for Evolution
 
Mon, May 6
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Evidence for Evolution
Tue, May 7
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Quiz
Wed, May 8
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Ecology
Textbook: 2.1
Thu, May 9
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Biomes
Textbook: 3.2
Fri, May 10
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Population Ecology
Textbook: 4.1
 
Mon, May 13
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Population Growth
Tue, May 14
Senior Finals: 2B, 3rd and 4th Finals
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Community Interactions
Textbook: 3.1
Wed, May 15
Senior Finals: 1 and 2A; Long Assembly Schedule
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Trophic Energy Flow
Textbook: 2.2,2.3
Thu, May 16
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Human Impacts
Textbook: 5.1,5.2,5.3
Fri, May 17
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Synthesize and Summary
 
Mon, May 20
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Synthesize and Summary
Tue, May 21
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Test
Wed, May 22
No School: Graduation
Thu, May 23
3 and 4 Finals
Fri, May 24
1 and 2B Finals
Unit: Evolution and Ecology
Go Over Test
 
Mon, May 27
Off
Tue, May 28
TWD
Wed, May 29
Free
Thu, May 30
Free
Fri, May 31
Free