Schedule
Below is a day-by-day summary of what we have or will be doing in class, along with links to all materials used and assignments given.
Please understand that even the most carefully formulated of plans do not always play out as anticipated, therefore materials posted before the end of the day may change to reflect reality in the classroom.

Jump to Today

Mon, Oct 15
Classes Till AP: 121
Unit: Biochemistry
Mechanisms of Action
To welcome students to AP Bio, students will discuss what they need to do to be successful in the class - including but not limited to getting a 3, 4, or 5 on the AP exam. We will then take notes on the concept of Mechanism of Action as a unifying concept that will guide their understanding of all that they will learn in this class.
Teacher Notes
01 Curiosity and Mechanisms of Action
Study Guides
01 Curiosity and Mechanisms of Action
Classwork
Homework
Tue, Oct 16
Classes Till AP: 120
Due Today
Bellwork.pptx
Unit: Biochemistry
Life, Atoms, and Molecules
Having introduced the concept of mechanisms of action, we will begin by studying the billiard balls underlying (at its most reduced state) all biological phenomenon: Atoms, Ions, and Molecules. Yea Chemistry!
Textbook: 2.1-2.3
Teacher Notes
02 Atoms Ions Molecules
Study Guides
02 Atoms Ions Molecules
Wed, Oct 17
Classes Till AP: 119
Unit: Biochemistry
Life, Atoms, and Molecules
Continued from yesterday.
Homework
Thu, Oct 18
Classes Till AP: 118
Due Today
Unit: Biochemistry
Physical Changes, Solutions
Substitute
Textbook: 3.1-3.3
Teacher Notes
03 Physical Changes and Solutions
Study Guides
03 Physical Changes and Solutions
Homework
Fri, Oct 19
Classes Till AP: 117
Unit: Biochemistry
Physical Changes, Solutions
Questions and Notes on what was covered yesterday.
 
Mon, Oct 22
Classes Till AP: 116
Unit: Biochemistry
Solutins and Electricity Experiments and Dilution Calculations
Work in any biology lab depends on being able to properly make a large number of solutions with specific ingredients and specific concentrations. Anyone who works in a lab needs to know how to make stock solutions, and how to dilute them to working concentrations.
Tue, Oct 23
Classes Till AP: 115
Due Today
Unit: Biochemistry
Dilution Calculations
Grade Dilutions Practice; Water and Electricity Activity
Classwork
Homework
Wed, Oct 24
Classes Till AP: 114
Due Today
Unit: Biochemistry
Chemical Reactions
Atoms and Molecules are the billiard balls of cellular function, and being in aqueous solutions allows them to interact, but it is the chemical reactions that drive life processes. Understanding the nature of some basic chemical reactions will go a long way to understanding critical cellular processes common to all living organisms.
Textbook: 2.4, 5.1, 8.1-8.2
Teacher Notes
04 Chemical Reactions
Study Guides
04 Chemical Reactions
Homework
Thu, Oct 25
Classes Till AP: 113
Unit: Biochemistry
Intro to Organic Molecules
Discuss the basic propeties of oragnic molecuels, functional groups, and polymers.
Textbook: 4.1-4.3
Teacher Notes
05 Intro to Organic Molecules
Study Guides
05 IntroTo Organic Molecules
Homework
Fri, Oct 26
Classes Till AP: 112
Due Today
Unit: Biochemistry
Organic Molecules: Nucleic Acids and Proteins
Learn about the structure of Nucleic Acids and ATP.
Textbook: 5.4-5.5, 8.3-8.5
Teacher Notes
06 Nucleic Acids
Study Guides
06 Nucleic Acids
Homework
 
Mon, Oct 29
Classes Till AP: 111
Due Today
Unit: Biochemistry
Protein Function
Introduction to Basic structure of proteins and protein folding.
Teacher Notes
07 Proteins
Study Guides
07 Proteins
Tue, Oct 30
Classes Till AP: 110
Assessment: Quiz 01: First 5 PowerPoints
Unit: Biochemistry
Quiz 01
Afer the quiz, discuss each item to review missed concepts.
Homework
Wed, Oct 31
Classes Till AP: 109
Due Today
Unit: Biochemistry
Protein Function
Protein Folding, Diveristy, and Mechanisms of Action for Catalysts
Thu, Nov 1
Classes Till AP: 108
Unit: Biochemistry
Protein Function
Protein Regulation and Kinetics
Homework
Fri, Nov 2
Classes Till AP: 107
Due Today
Unit: Biochemistry
Lab Preperaton: Experimental Design
In preperation for next week's lab, we will discuss the fundamentals of lab design and data analysis.
Teacher Notes
08 Experimental Design
09 Restriction Digests and Agarose Electrophoresis
Homework
 
Mon, Nov 5
Classes Till AP: 106
Due Today
Bellwork.pptx
Unit: Biochemistry
lab Preperaton: Micropipetters
Students will be introduced to using Micropipetters, and will complete activities for practice.
Teacher Notes
10_UsingMicroPipetters
Classwork
Homework
Tue, Nov 6
Teacher Professional Development: No school
Wed, Nov 7
Classes Till AP: 105
Bellwork.pptx
Unit: Biochemistry
Lab: Restriction Digests and Preparing Gels
Students will set up the experiments they designed to determine how altering reaction conditions affects the activity of restriction enzymes.
Thu, Nov 8
Classes Till AP: 104
Unit: Biochemistry
Lab: Electrophoresis.
Students will complete the labs they began yesterday by using electrophoresis to separate the restrition fragments, then analyzign them using a UV transilluminator.
Fri, Nov 9
Classes Till AP: 103
Assessment: Quiz 2: Nucleic Acids and Proteins (PPTs 6 and 7)
Unit: Biochemistry
Organic Molecules: Carbohydrates and Lipids
After the quiz, students will take notes on the last two organic molecules: Carbohydrates and Lipids.
Textbook: 5.2-5.3
Teacher Notes
11 Carbohydrates and Lipids
Study Guides
11 Carbohydrates and Lipids
Homework
 
Mon, Nov 12
Classes Till AP: 102
Due Today
Bellwork.pptx
Unit: Biochemistry
Membranes
Students will learn how the properties of Phospholipids allow them to form semipermeable membranes; they will also learn about the different types of transport through a membrane.
Textbook: Ch 7
Teacher Notes
12 Membranes and Membrane Transport
Study Guides
12 Membranes and Membrane Transport
Tue, Nov 13
Classes Till AP: 101
Due Today
Unit: Biochemistry
Membrane Transport
Students will learn about the different mechanisms by which molecules are able to cross membrnes.
Homework
Wed, Nov 14
Classes Till AP: 100
Due Today
Unit: Biochemistry
Osmosis
The previous day focused on how solutes cross membranes; today we will flip it around and discuss how water moves across membranes - Osmosis. It would be helpful for students to bring a lap-top to class if they have one. **Last Day to Do Quiz Retakes **Dr. Mayberry will be available after school in 9300 to answer questions, review, help with FRQs, provide retakes, etc. 3:10 until 6:00pm
Classwork
Thu, Nov 15
Classes Till AP: 99
Due Today
Unit: Biochemistry
AP Exam Practice
Dr. Mayberry will be out of town: students will pratice answering Multiple Choice and free response questions from past AP exams on the topics we have covered so far.
Fri, Nov 16
Classes Till AP: 98
Assessment: Test 1: Biochemistry
Unit: Biochemistry
Exam 1
Dr. Mayberry will be out of town: students will take their first exam on biochemistry.
 
Mon, Nov 19
Thanksgiving Break
Tue, Nov 20
Thanksgiving Break
Wed, Nov 21
Thanksgiving Break
Thu, Nov 22
Thanksgiving Break
Fri, Nov 23
Thanksgiving Break
 
Mon, Nov 26
Classes Till AP: 97
Unit: Cell Biology
Introduction to Cell Types
Notes on Cell Tyes
Textbook: Ch 6
Teacher Notes
13 Cells and Cell Types
Study Guides
13 Cells and Cell Types
Homework
Wed, Nov 28
Classes Till AP: 95
Due Today
Unit: Cell Biology
Cell Energetics: Photosynthesis
Continued from yesterday.
Homework
Thu, Nov 29
Classes Till AP: 94
Due Today
Unit: Cell Biology
Cell Energetics: Photosynthesis
Notes on Cellular Respiratinon: How cells are able to harvest the energy in Carbohydrates to make ATP.
Textbook: Ch 9
Fri, Nov 30
Classes Till AP: 93
Assessment: Quiz: Cell Tpes and Photosynthesis
Unit: Cell Biology
Hand Back and Review Exam 1
Today will be spent going over the first exam. Any time that is left can be spent workign on test corrections or the outline for tomorrow.
Homework
 
Tue, Dec 4
Classes Till AP: 91
Due Today
Unit: Cell Biology
Photosynthesis and Cellular Respiration Follow-Up
Group Work analyzing data on Photosynthesis and Cellular Respiration
Classwork
Wed, Dec 5
Classes Till AP: 90
Due Today
Unit: Cell Biology
Analysis of Studies on Heritable Material
For many decades (if not more), scientists debated on the mechanisms of heredity, and the molecules that are responsible for it. Today we will focus on landmark experiments that demonstrated that DNA is the hereditary molecule.
Textbook: 15.Intro-15.1, 16.Intro-16.1,17.Intro-17.1
Teacher Notes
16 Foundational Discoveries on DNA-Proteins
Study Guides
16 Foundational Discoveries on DNA-Proteins
Homework
Thu, Dec 6
Classes Till AP: 89
Due Today
Unit: Cell Biology
Analysis of Studies on Heritable Material
Homework
Fri, Dec 7
Classes Till AP: 88
Due Today
Assessment: Quiz 4
Unit: Cell Biology
Gene Expression
Textbook: 17.2-17.4
Homework
 
Tue, Dec 11
Classes Till AP: 86
Due Today
Unit: Cell Biology
Gene Expression
Teacher Notes
18 Mutations
Study Guides
18 Mutations
Homework
Wed, Dec 12
Classes Till AP: 85
Due Today
Unit: Cell Biology
Mutations
Textbook: 17.5
Homework
Fri, Dec 14
Classes Till AP: 83
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Cell Biology
Protein Sorting
Textbook: 6.3-6.4 (already read)
Teacher Notes
19 Protein Sorting
Supporting Materials
19 Video - Cotransational Sorting
Study Guides
19 Protein Sorting
 
Mon, Dec 17
Classes Till AP: 82
Unit: Cell Biology
Protein Sorting
Classwork
Tue, Dec 18
Classes Till AP: 81
Due Today
Unit: Cell Biology
Gene Experssion and Protein Sorting Review
Textbook: 18.1-18.4
Wed, Dec 19
Final for Periods 3 and 4
Classes Till AP: 80
Assessment: Quiz on Protein Sorting and Differential Gene Expression
Unit: Cell Biology
Quiz then Correctiosn
Please only submit the quiz correction online IF you I did not already enter your grade for the corrections.
Homework
Thu, Dec 20
Final for Periods 1 and 2
Due Today
Unit: Cell Biology
No Class
Please only submit the quiz correction online IF you I did not already enter your grade for the corrections.
Fri, Dec 21
TWD
 
Mon, Dec 24
Winter Break
Tue, Dec 25
Winter Break
Wed, Dec 26
Winter Break
Thu, Dec 27
Winter Break
Fri, Dec 28
Winter Break
 
Mon, Dec 31
Winter Break
Tue, Jan 1
Winter Break
Wed, Jan 2
Winter Break
Thu, Jan 3
Winter Break
Fri, Jan 4
Winter Break
 
Mon, Jan 7
Classes Till AP: 79
Unit: Cell Biology
AP Exam Practice
Wed, Jan 9
Classes Till AP: 77
Unit: Cell Biology
Gene Regulation in Prokaryotes
Teacher Notes
21 Gene Regulation in Prokaryotes
Supporting Materials
21 Video - Lac Operon
Study Guides
21 Gene Regulation in Prokaryotes
Homework
Thu, Jan 10
Classes Till AP: 76
Due Today
Unit: Cell Biology
lac Operon
Homework
Fri, Jan 11
Classes Till AP: 75
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Cell Biology
AP Test Practice
Homework
 
Mon, Jan 14
Classes Till AP: 74
Due Today
Unit: Cell Biology
Review for Test
Homework
Tue, Jan 15
Classes Till AP: 73
Unit: Cell Biology
Review for Test
Question/Answer Review. Students whould come prepared with questions and topics they want to discuss in preperation for the exam tomorrow.
Wed, Jan 16
Classes Till AP: 72
Assessment: Test
Unit: Cell Biology
Test
Thu, Jan 17
Classes Till AP: 71
Unit: Cell Biology
Mendel
Homework
Fri, Jan 18
PD Day
Unit:
No Class
 
Mon, Jan 21
Off
Unit:
No Class
Tue, Jan 22
Classes Till AP: 70
Unit: Cel Cycle
Snow Day
Wed, Jan 23
Classes Till AP: 69
Unit: Cell Cycle
Go Over Test
Homework
Thu, Jan 24
Classes Till AP: 68
Due Today
Unit: Cell Cycle
Mendel
Textbook: 14.1-14.2
Teacher Notes
22 Mendel
Study Guides
22 Mendel
Fri, Jan 25
Classes Till AP: 67
Due Today
Unit: Cell Cycle
Cell Cycle
Textbook: 12.2(Phases of the Cell Cycle) and 12.3, and 11.5 and 18.5
Teacher Notes
23 Cell Cycle in Eukaryotes_TAKE2
Supporting Materials
23 Video - Henrietta Lacks Cells
Study Guides
23 Cell Cycle in Eukaryotes
Homework
 
Mon, Jan 28
Classes Till AP: 66
Due Today
Unit: Cell Cycle
DNA Replication
Textbook: 16.1-16.2
Teacher Notes
24 DNA Replication
Supporting Materials
24 Video - DNA Replication
24 Video - Hershey Chase Experiment
Study Guides
24 DNA Replication
Tue, Jan 29
Classes Till AP: 65
Unit: Cell Cycle
DNA Replication
Homework
Wed, Jan 30
Classes Till AP: 64
Unit: Cell Cycle
PCR Introduction
Homework
Thu, Jan 31
Classes Till AP: 63
Unit: Cell Cycle
PCR Lab
Homework
Fri, Feb 1
Classes Till AP: 62
Unit: Cell Cycle
PCR Lab
Teacher Notes
FYI_Genome Editing
Homework
 
Mon, Feb 4
Classes Till AP: 61
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Cell Cycle
PCR Lab Follow-up
Homework
Wed, Feb 6
Classes Till AP: 59
Due Today
Unit: Cell Cycle
Cell Division
Homework
Thu, Feb 7
Classes Till AP: 58
Due Today
Unit: Cell Cycle
Cell Division
Fri, Feb 8
Classes Till AP: 57
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Cell Cycle
Cell Division
Homework
 
Mon, Feb 11
Classes Till AP: 56
Due Today
Unit: Cell Cycle
Heredity
Teacher Notes
26 Heredity
Study Guides
26 Heredity
Homework
Wed, Feb 13
Classes Till AP: 54
Due Today
Unit: Cell Cycle
Heredity
Thu, Feb 14
Classes Till AP: 53
Assessment: Quiz
Unit: Cell Cycle
Statistics and Crosses
Homework
Fri, Feb 15
PD Day
 
Mon, Feb 18
Off
Tue, Feb 19
Classes Till AP: 52
Due Today
Unit: Cell Cycle
Lab: Cell Division (Onion Tip Root Stains with Statistics - stdv, chi-square)
Wed, Feb 20
Classes Till AP: 51
Due Today
Unit: Cell Cycle
Lab Follow-up
Thu, Feb 21
Classes Till AP: 50
Unit: Cell Cycle
AP Test Questions and Review
Fri, Feb 22
Classes Till AP: 49
Assessment: Test Cell Cycle and Heredity
Unit: Evolution
Test
 
Mon, Feb 25
Classes Till AP: 48
Unit: Evolution
Go Over Test
Tue, Feb 26
Classes Till AP: 47
Wed, Feb 27
Classes Till AP: 46
Thu, Feb 28
Classes Till AP: 45
Fri, Mar 1
Classes Till AP: 44
 
Mon, Mar 4
Classes Till AP: 43
Tue, Mar 5
Classes Till AP: 42
Unit: Organismal Biology
Multicellular Organisms: Development, Anatomy and Physiology, Behavior
Wed, Mar 6
Classes Till AP: 41
Unit: Organismal Biology
Evo Devo and Developmental Comparisions
Thu, Mar 7
Classes Till AP: 40
Unit: Organismal Biology
Human Development
Fri, Mar 8
Classes Till AP: 39
Unit: Organismal Biology
Lab: Chicken Development
 
Mon, Mar 11
Classes Till AP: 38
Unit: Organismal Biology
Homeostasis
Tue, Mar 12
Classes Till AP: 37
Unit: Organismal Biology
Endocrine
Wed, Mar 13
Classes Till AP: 36
Unit: Organismal Biology
Endocrine
Thu, Mar 14
Period 1 and 2b Finals; early dismissal
Classes Till AP: 35
Unit: Organismal Biology
Neuron Function
Fri, Mar 15
Period 3 and 4 Finals; early dismissal
 
Mon, Mar 18
Off
Tue, Mar 19
Off
Wed, Mar 20
Off
Thu, Mar 21
Off
Fri, Mar 22
Off
 
Mon, Mar 25
Classes Till AP: 34
Unit: Organismal Biology
Lab: Excel Modeling of Nernst and Goldman Equations.
Tue, Mar 26
Classes Till AP: 33
Unit: Organismal Biology
Lab: NeuroSim
Wed, Mar 27
Classes Till AP: 32
Unit: Organismal Biology
Nervous System Structure, Sense Organs
Thu, Mar 28
Classes Till AP: 31
Unit: Organismal Biology
Immune
Fri, Mar 29
Classes Till AP: 30
Unit: Organismal Biology
Immune
 
Mon, Apr 1
Classes Till AP: 29
Unit: Organismal Biology
Behavior (Innate vs Learned, etc.)
Tue, Apr 2
Classes Till AP: 29
Unit: Organismal Biology
Lab: Pill Bug Behavior
Wed, Apr 3
Classes Till AP: 27
Unit: Organismal Biology
Optimality and Tradeoffs
Thu, Apr 4
Classes Till AP: 26
Unit: Organismal Biology
Animal Communication
Fri, Apr 5
Classes Till AP: 25
Unit: Organismal Biology
Vascular Plants Structure and Function
 
Mon, Apr 8
Classes Till AP: 24
Unit: Organismal Biology
Water Potential and Plant Vascular Systems
Tue, Apr 9
Classes Till AP: 23
Unit: Organismal Biology
Water Potential and Plant Vascular Systems
Wed, Apr 10
Classes Till AP: 22
Unit: Organismal Biology
Lab: Leaf Structure and Transpiration
Thu, Apr 11
Classes Till AP: 21
Unit: Organismal Biology
Ecology
Fri, Apr 12
Classes Till AP: 20
Unit: Ecology
Biomes
 
Mon, Apr 15
Classes Till AP: 19
Unit: Ecology
Population Ecology
Tue, Apr 16
Classes Till AP: 18
Unit: Ecology
Population Growth
Wed, Apr 17
Classes Till AP: 17
Unit: Ecology
Lab: Excel Modeling of Population Growth
Thu, Apr 18
Classes Till AP: 16
Unit: Ecology
Community Interactions
Fri, Apr 19
Off
Classes Till AP: 15
Unit: Ecology
No Class
 
Mon, Apr 22
Unit:
Trophic Energy Flow
Tue, Apr 23
Classes Till AP: 14
Unit: Ecology
Ecosystem Stability vs Fragility
Wed, Apr 24
Classes Till AP: 13
Unit: Ecology
Human Impacts on the Environment
Thu, Apr 25
Classes Till AP: 12
Unit: Ecology
AP Exam Practice
Fri, Apr 26
Classes Till AP: 11
Unit: Ecology
AP Exam Practice
 
Mon, Apr 29
Classes Till AP: 10
Unit: Ecology
Exam 4
Tue, Apr 30
Classes Till AP: 9
Unit: Ecology
Review Exam 4
Wed, May 1
Classes Till AP: 8
Unit: Ecology
AP Exam Review MC
Thu, May 2
Classes Till AP: 7
Unit: AP Exam Preperation
AP Exam Review MC
Fri, May 3
Classes Till AP: 6
Unit: AP Exam Preperation
AP Exam Review FRQ
 
Mon, May 6
Classes Till AP: 5
Unit: AP Exam Preperation
AP Exam Review FRQ
Tue, May 7
Classes Till AP: 4
Unit: AP Exam Preperation
AP Exam Practice: Full Multiple Choice
Wed, May 8
Classes Till AP: 3
Unit: AP Exam Preperation
AP Exam Practice: Full FRQ
Thu, May 9
Classes Till AP: 2
Unit: AP Exam Preperation
Review
Fri, May 10
Classes Till AP: 1
Unit: AP Exam Preperation
Review
 
Mon, May 13
Classes Till AP: 0
Unit: AP Exam Preperation
Good Luck!
Tue, May 14
Senior Finals: 2B, 3rd and 4th Finals
Classes Till AP: -1
Unit: Post Exam Projects
Preperations
Wed, May 15
Senior Finals: 1 and 2A; Long Assembly Schedule
Classes Till AP: -2
Unit: Post Exam Projects
Preperations
Thu, May 16
Classes Till AP: -3
Unit: Post Exam Projects
Preperations
Fri, May 17
Classes Till AP: -4
Unit: Post Exam Projects
Preperations
 
Mon, May 20
Classes Till AP: -5
Unit: Post Exam Projects
Preperations
Tue, May 21
Classes Till AP: -6
Unit: Post Exam Projects
Preperations
Wed, May 22
No School: Graduation
Unit: Post Exam Projects
No Class
Thu, May 23
3 and 4 Finals
Classes Till AP: -7
Unit: Post Exam Projects
Presentations
Fri, May 24
1 and 2B Finals
Classes Till AP: -8
Unit: Post Exam Projects
Presentations
 
Mon, May 27
Off
Classes Till AP: -9
Unit: Post Exam Projects
No More Classes
Tue, May 28
TWD
Wed, May 29
Free
Thu, May 30
Free
Fri, May 31
Free